Stanford University

Infectious Agents

Stanford University follows the categorizing of infectious agents into levels as described in Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories (BMBL) 5th Edition written and published by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and NIH. The BMBL describes combinations of microbiological practices, laboratory facilities, and safety equipment in combination with four biosafety levels for various agents infectious to humans. The descriptions of Biosafety Levels (BSL) 1 – 4 parallel those in the OBA – NIH Guidelines. Biosafety levels are also described for infectious disease activities that involve laboratory animals.

Additional resources for determining Biosafety Risk level of infectious agents can be found at:

The following Biosafety Level related documents are available:

Animal Biosafety Levels

Animal Biosafety Levels (ABSLs) refer to the use of rDNA or biohazardous agents in animals. All ABSLs are associated with detailed cage labeling requirements, biohazard carcass disposal practices, and personnel training. Note that certain ABSLs require specific housing designations. The Animal Housing and Biosafety Flow Chart contains specific information on ABSL housing.

Biosafety level 3 Service Center

Stanford University’s in-vitro Biosafety Level 3 (BSL3) Service Center offers a state-of-art core facility supporting BSL2 and 3 level infectious disease research. Stanford Researchers can obtain access to the BSL3 core’s unique array of instruments and experimental systems by personally undergoing safety training and certification to enter the BSL3 facility. Researchers undergoing training need to be added to an existing APB or new APB. Following certification and training, they may conduct experiments or engage with core staff who can conduct experimental procedures under bio-containment protocols on a fee-for-service basis. External researchers/organizations can also engage core staff on a fee-for-service basis. For more details on accessing BSL3 please contact Jaishree Garhyan:

Jaishree Garhyan, Ph.D. (she/her)
Director, BSL-3/2 Service center
Stanford University, School of Medicine

Mobile: 650-385-9509

Back to Top

Download full instructions here ->